Baby steps

Here’s a tip for anyone struggling to find healthy snacks in their local supermarket. Baby food. No, I’m not talking about  surviving on mashed up veg or rusks – no matter how many celebrities may have sworn they lost shed-loads of weight by eating out of a jar. I’m thinking more of the sort of snacks you can buy for toddlers – and having had two kids of my own I’m quite the connoisseur now! Below I’ve listed the sort of benefits I’ve found from swapping normal snacks for kiddie fodder – 

Cereal Bars
It’s scary how many cereal bar brands are packed full with sugar – but I’ve found Organix cereal bars to be a real find – they’re low on calories and have no ‘nasties’ in them – and no added sugar at all. More importantly I find they are a delicious and satisfying treat. (I promise I’m not being paid to be this nice about them – I just really like them! There are, of course, plenty of other options – some other brands make ‘fruit bars’ which count as a portion of fruit each.)

Crisps & crackers
Again, children’s versions of crisps and crackers tend to be additive free – just check the packet before you buy – and are usually produced in very small portions. By swapping your usual bags of crisps for a child-friendly pack of ‘corn puff shapes’, you are, in my experience, consuming less than half the calories, and a fraction of the fat.

Fruit puddings
Some baby food brands make delicious fruit purees that are packed in pots, just like yogurts. Not everyone is going to like the idea of eating a puree, but I’ve found them very handy as an alternative, healthy pudding. They’re also great for swirling into plain yogurts or porridge.

Perhaps I’m the only mum who’s decided to have a sneaky taste of what she’s been feeding her little ones and thought “Mmm…not bad!” In which case, I’m a freak! But it works for me. A piece of fruit, would of course, be the healthiest snack of all, but all the above have often helped to me keep boredom at bay when I’m doing my best to have a wholesome day. By the way, you’ll usually have to head to the baby food section of your local shop to have a chance of finding any of these – most supermarkets keep them all together like this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cravings, How I'm losing weight

Leave a comment